Saint-Petersburg State University
Faculty of Biology

Department of Invertebrate Zoology
Rus | Eng

Department of Invertebrate Zoology: Research Groups

Mayorella kuwaitensisSystematics and phylogeny of lobose amoebae
Lobose amoebae: morphology, systematics, phylogeny, biology, taxonomy, ecology, life cycles, species problem, DNA-barcoding, biogeography, deep-sea amoebae.
Alexey Smirnov (polychaos@mail.ru), Alexander Kudryavtsev (aak@ak14261.spb.edu, gocevia@gmail.com)
Marine benthic ecology
Marine biology; marine invertebrates’ population biology; spatial structure and dynamics of sea benthic communities; marine invertebrates.
Vadim Khaitov (polydora@rambler.ru), Evgeniy Yakovis (yakovis@rbcmail.ru)
Morphology and phylogeny of turbellarians
Ultrastructure, morphology and phylogeny of lower Bilateria: Acoelomorpha, turbellarians, rotifers; nervous system, musculature, reproductive system.
Olga Raikova (oraikova@gmail.com)
Trematodes in marine coastal ecosystems
Trematodes in marine coastal ecosystems: life cycles, taxonomy, phylogeography, morphology, biology, behaviour and population dynamics.
Kirill Galaktionov (kirill.galaktionov@gmail.com)
Invertebrates in aquaculture
Invertebrates’ behaviour; keeping invertebrates in aquaria; epibioses; developing protective systems against biofouling for technical objects.
Alexander Railkin (railkin@yandex.ru)
Ultrustructure of opisthokonts
Opisthokonts: their ultrastructure, biology, molecular phylogeny and ecology.
Sergey Karpov (sakarpov4@gmail.com)
Evolutionary morphology and reproductive biology of aquatic invertebrates
Marine and fresh-water bryozoans: comparative evolutionary morphology, reproductive biology, taxonomy and biogeography.
Andrey Ostrovsky (oan_univer@gmail.com)
Functional and evolutionary morphology of Bilateria
Functional and evolutionary morphology of Bilateria (bryozoans, polychaetes, kamptozoans, pantopoda), invertebrates’ feeding strategies, marine benthic communities’ structure and dynamics.
Natalia Shunatova (natalia_shunatova@yahoo.com)
Micro-evolution of cryptic species of marine gastropod genus Littorina
Species problem, species structure, polymorphism, sibling species and speciation problem, ecology and genetics of Littorina mollusks. Andrei Granovitch (granovitch@mail.ru)
Parasitic systems
Parasitic systems: structure, functioning, dynamics. Theoretical aspects of parasitic systems’ analysis. Population level of parasite-host interactions.
Andrei Granovitch (granovitch@mail.ru)
Lophotrochozoa nervous systems: annelids, bryozoans
Lophotrochozoa nervous systems: annelids, bryozoans; development and evolution of nervous systems; functional features of various nervous elements; confocal and fluorescent microscopy.
Victor Starunov (starunov@gmail.com), Ksenia Shunkina (keyelastic@gmail.com)
Comparative morphology of trematodes
Trematode promorphology (nervous and muscular systems, chaetotaxy), trematode fauna and biology, systematics of stylet cercariae.
Andrey Dobrovolskij (a.dobrovolskij@bio.spbu.ru), Darya Krupenko (midnightcrabb@gmail.com).
Sporozoans: diversity, structure, phylogeny, and adaptation strategies to parasitism
Biodiversity and evolutionary paths of sporozoans (Sporozoa, Apicomplexa); system, fine structure, host-parasite relationships, biology.
Gita Paskerova ( gitapasker@yahoo.com)
Karyology and Genetics of Ciliates
Maria Rautian (mrautian@mail.ru)
Foraminifera
Ecology and paleoecology, morphological and molecular systematics and cell biology of foraminiferans on continental shelves in high-altitude areas; biomonitoring
Sergei Korsun (s_korsun@mail.ru)
Parasitism of mites on plants
Mites, Eriophyoidea, mites and plants coevolution, morphofunctional adaptations of mites to phytoparasitism, Eriophyoidea phylogeny and systematics
Philipp Chetverikov (p.chetverikov@bio.spbu.ru), Sogdiana Sukhareva
Systematics and phylogeny of heliozoans
Heliozoans: biodiversity, molecular phylogeny, ultrastructure, search for related groups of protists.
Vasily Zlatogursky (v.zlatogursky@gmail.com)
Molecular regulation of complex life cycles
Studying regulation of complex life cycles with trematode and cnidarian models. The work includes maintaining the cultures of animals in the lab, morphological investigations, next generation sequencing approaches (based at on the university’s resourse centres) and bioinformatical analysis.
Konstantin Khalturin (konstantin.khalturin@oist.jp)

to top